WIAW: February 6, 2013

Is it just me, or does February feel like it is already flying by?  Maybe it is because I have been busy at work and busy outside of work, but this week is definitely cruising right a long.  Trust me, I am certainly not complaining!  But enough February talk.  Let’s talk about Wednesday and What I Ate Wednesday!

WIAW February 2013

 

 

 

 

So it is “Love Your Veggies Month,” huh?  Well if you know me at all, then you know I certainly won’t have a problem with this WIAW theme ;).

Breakfast

WIAW 2613 3

 

 

 

 

 

Breakfast consisted of two of my current favorite morning eats.  I had two pieces of toasted Ezekiel 100% whole grain bread topped with half of a mashed avocado and salsa (p.s. you really must try the Wholly Guacamole salsa if you have not already..it is good!)…

WIAW 2613 4

 

 

 

 

 

…and raspberry Greek yogurt topped with fresh strawberries and blackberries.  I honestly do not think that I could ever get enough blackberries right now.

Snack

WIAW 2613 6

 

 

 

 

 

This probably comes as no surprise.  My mid-morning snack was a banana.  And a really yummy banana at that.  I was loving all of those brown spots! :)

Lunch

quinoa n peas

 

 

 

 

 

For lunch I ate leftovers of last night’s dinner: Cheesy Quinoa ‘N Peas with “Bacon” (recipe to come) and a side of roasted broccoli.

WIAW 2613 5

 

 

 

 

 

I paired it with a serving of fresh cantaloupe.  And yes, that is a container made for veggies and dip…let’s just say that I was running low on clean containers ;).

Snack

WIAW 2613 2

 

 

 

 

 

After work I headed to the grocery store and then got right to baking.  It is my turn to bring breakfast to work tomorrow, so I baked a double-batch of Maple-Kissed Pumpkin Muffins.  While I baked, I ate a sliced Jonagold apple dipped in PB2 peanut butter to tide me over until dinner.

Dinner

WIAW 2613

 

 

 

 

 

Tonight’s dinner was beyond delicious!  I made Chelsey’s Lentil Sloppy Joe’s and they were so, so tasty!  I served the lentils on toasted whole wheat bread and topped the sandwich with a bit of sriarcha sauce.  On the side I ate homemade sweet potato french fries and a dill pickle spear.  I seriously cannot wait to eat my leftovers for lunch tomorrow!

Snacks

Tonight’s snacks will likely consist of cooked green peas (weird, I know..but I just love them!), fresh fruits (cantaloupe, strawberries, blueberries, mandarin oranges…some or all ;) of these?), and something salty.  I am thinking either popcorn or Pop Chips.  Both sound awfully enticing right now.

I hope you all had a fabulous Wednesday!  It is almost Thursday, which means that it is almost Friday.  Keep trucking a long! :)

38 responses

  1. It’s felt like ALL the months have been flying by for me lately!! February is my favorite though..birthday and Vday yahoo!! YUM to all this food, I will have NO problems eating my veggies this month. ;)

    • Most of the recipes I come up with myself, find online, or am inspired to create through other’s blog posts, but I am a BIG fan of the Happy Herbivore vegan cookbooks (she has 3 out right now). I definitely recommend checking them out!

    • It is pretty simple: All I do is cut them up, spray them with EVOO cooking spray, sprinkle them with sea salt, black pepper, and cinnamon and roasted from for about 25-30 minutes (depending on how crispy you want them) at 400 degrees F! Sweet potato fries are theeee best!

Leave a Reply

