Vietnamese Banh Mi-Inspired Sandwich

I have a confession.  I have a problematic habit of subscribing to cooking, health, and fitness magazines, finding promising or inspiring recipes in them, tearing the recipes out with the greatest of intentions to utilize them, and then leaving them stacked in a pile for months and months.  Starting this year, I have made a promise to myself to actually put some of these recipes to use.  After all, I am paying for the magazines, so I might as well get my monies worth! ;)

vietnamese sandwich 2

 

 

 

 

 

One of my favorite magazines to find inspiration from is Vegetarian Times.  The most recent issue (January/February 2013) features a recipe for a “Vegful Vietnamese Sandwich.”  This recipe inspired me to create my own version of a Vietnamese Banh Mi sandwich.  Enter the…

vietnamese sandwich

 

 

 

 

 

 

Vietnamese Banh Mi-Inspired Sandwich

*Inspired by the Vegful Vietnamese Sandwich in Vegetarian Times

Servings: 2

Ingredients

1/2 cup shredded organic carrots
1 small lime, juiced
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp low-sodium soy sauce
3 TB vegan mayonnaise (I used Vegenaise)
1/2 TB Sriracha sauce
2 chik’n cutlets (I used Quorn brand)
2 hoagie sub rolls
EVOO cooking spray
lettuce
1 Roma tomato, sliced

Directions

1. In a small bowl, combine carrots, lime juice, apple cider vinegar, and soy sauce.  Stir until well-combine.  Let sit in the refrigerator for approximately 30 minutes.

2. Preheat oven to “broil.”

3. Stir together mayonnaise and Sriracha sauce.  Set aside.

4. Cook chik’n cutlets according to package directions.

5. Cut hoagie sub rolls 3/4 of the way.  Do not cut them all of the way.  Spray the inside of the rolls with EVOO cooking spray.  Broil for approximately 2-3 minutes, or until golden brown.

6. Spread mayonnaise and Sriracha spread onto the buns.  Add lettuce and Roma tomato slices.  Top the tomatoes with the cooked chik’n cutlet.  Top the chik’n cutlet with the marinated carrots.  Drizzle the carrots with a bit of the remaining marinade.

vietnamese sandwich 4

 

 

 

 

 

Serve the Vietnamese Banh Mi-Inspired Sandwich with a side of vegetables or fruit.  I chose to eat mine with cooked mixed vegetables.

vietnamese sandwich 5

 

 

 

 

 

I was so thrilled with the outcome of this sandwich.  The crispiness of the bread combined with the freshness of the vegetables, the heartiness of the chik’n cutlet (which, by the way tastes like chicken!), and the marinated carrot salad was absolutely delicious.  And the Sriracha mayonnaise??  Um, do not even get me started on how delicious that was.  It totally made the sandwich!

vietnamese sandwich 6

 

 

 

 

 

If you do one nice thing for yourself this week, do yourself a favor and make this sandwich.  You simply cannot beat a recipe for a sandwich that is beyond easy to make and extremely flavorful and delicious.  I highly encourage you to give it a try!

41 responses

  1. Oh my gosh, right now I’m actually going through all the workouts and recipes I have pulled out of magazines over the years! Good timing :p

  2. That sounds so good! I think I would try it with black bean burgers or real chicken, I don’t have any ‘fake’ chicken. Is it made with soy? I love tofu, but am still a little intimidated when it comes to cooking it at home so I save it for restaurants.

  3. I am guilty of the exact same thing! I’ve resolved to try and make at least one new recipe per week and it has been working pretty well. I pin my reciipes on a bulletin board in my kitchen as I find them!

  4. I do the same thing with recipes and magazines. One of my goals this year, is to at least organize my recipe piles! The sandwich looks really yummy too!

  5. I LOVE Banh Mi sandwiches! This looks like a delicious homemade version, and that sriracha mayonnaise is definitely calling my name. :)

    My living room is stacked with health, fitness and cooking magazines, too! Not to mention all of the recipes I pin and bookmark online every day. It’s overwhelming! ;)

    Hope you had a wonderful weekend! <3

  6. This looks awesome!

    Also to answer your questions that you posted on my blog:
    1. I’m sure subbing almond milk in the soup would be fine!
    2. A Nanaimo bar is a dessert with a coconut chocolate wafer crumb base, a custard filling, and a chocolate layer on top. They are to die for!

  7. So many things to say about this! For one, I saw someone make a banh mi -type sandwich on chopped probably YEARS ago at this point and have been drooling over the idea ever since! So glad someone else did the leg work and came up with a recipe for me to try :)

    For two, you get further than me with your magazines. Half of mine sit (never opened) in a magazine rack until I throw them away. So wasteful :(

    I LOVE the Quorn cutlets. The first (several) times I tried to eat them, I was too weirded out by the seemingly real taste and texture. I hadn’t eaten meat in 10+ years, so I asked my omni boyfriend to try them and reassure me that they weren’t secretly real meat! [he tried them, but definitely laughed at me!]. They’re his favorite chicken substitute, so they have to be doing something right!

Leave a Reply

