WIAW: February 13, 2013

Happy Wednesday everyone!  Is it just me, or is this week actually moving right along?  Trust me, I am so not complaining!

Now let’s get to today’s eats…

WIAW February 2013

 

 

 

 

What I Ate Wednesday

Breakfast/Morning Snack

Unfortunately, I do not have much going on for this as far as pictures go.  We were treated to breakfast pizza at work today, so I had 1 1/2 slices of delicious veggie breakfast pizza.  It has been forever since I have eaten breakfast pizza.  Note to self: eat it more than once every 3 or 4 years!

WIAW 21313 3

 

 

 

 

 

I also ate a sweet mandarin orange to balance out the saltiness of the pizza.  I don’t know about you, but I always need something sweet to compliment a salty or savory dish.

My mid-morning snack was the usual: a banana!

Lunch

WIAW 21313 2 MUSH

 

 

 

 

 

Lunch consisted of leftovers from last night’s dinner (hence the non-Tupperware picture).  I ate “Bacon” and Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms (recipe to come!) with a side of butternut squash.

WIAW 21313 4

 

 

 

 

 

I also snacked on some baby carrots dipped in hummus.

Snack

WIAW 13013 7

 

 

 

 

 

After work, and prior to heading out for a 3 mile walk (yay for decent weather!), I snacked on an apple dipped in this:

WIAW 21313

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lately, I cannot get enough of this almond butter.  It is just SO tasty!

Dinner

WIAW 21313 5

 

 

 

 

 

For tonight’s dinner I made Creamy Mushroom Barley from The Happy Herbivore Abroad cookbook.  As with all of her recipes, this dish did not disappoint!  And yes, the girl who used to hate mushrooms, ate mushrooms for two of my meals today.  Pretty crazy! ;)

Snacks

Tonight’s snacks included/will include: Roasted Radish Chips, cooked green peas, some fresh fruit (cantaloupe, blackberries, strawberries, and blueberries), and a TBD salty snack (probably Pop Chips or lentil chips).

All I can say about today’s eats is YUM!  And to go with this month’s WIAW theme, my vegetable count for the day was….approximately 7 servings.  What can I say, I love vegetables!

39 responses

  1. I sure wish you’d been able to snap a picture of that breakfast pizza, because like almost everyone else here, I’ve never seen or tried one! Was it ordered from a pizza place or homemade? I’m so intrigued! Maybe that’s a recipe you can share with us sometime. *hint hint* ;)

    Everything looks delicious–especially that risotto. Yum! I may need to check out the Happy Herbivore cookbook; it sounds like you’ve been really pleased with the recipes you’ve tried! And roasted radish chips? I’m going to go check those out now!

    Happy Wednesday! <3

    • It amazes me how many people have never heard of breakfast pizza! It is pretty popular here in the Midwest at pizza places and is often served by the slice at gas stations. I will have to definitely attempt to make it at home and post about it here!

      Yes, you should absolutely check out the cookbooks. They are fabulous!

    • Sorry, but I do not post recipes that come directly from cookbooks and that I do not make alterations to. I wish I could, but I do not feel comfortable doing so :(. You should definitely look into purchasing the cookbook, though. It is fabulous!

  2. Pingback: Breakfast Veggie Pita Pizza | Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Leave a Reply

