“Meatloaf” Veggie Burgers

meatloaf burgers 4

 

 

 

 

 

I have mentioned before that one of my favorite foods that I miss from my meat-eating days is my dad’s meatloaf.  There was always just something so delicious and comforting about sitting down to that meal.  You may remember, though, that I have found an awfully delicious substitute in my Vegetarian “Meatloaf.”  I love the vegetarian version so much that I have been trying to think of ways that I can incorporate the flavors into other dishes.

I was having a crazy and creative night several weeks ago, and it was at about this time that I suddenly thought, “why not make the “meatloaf” into burgers?”  Yes, this happened:

meatloaf burgers 8

 

 

 

 

 

“Meatloaf” Veggie Burgers

Servings: Makes 4 burgers

Ingredients

For the “Meatloaf” Veggie Burgers:

EVOO cooking spray
1/4 green pepper, roughly chopped
1/4 yellow onion, roughly chopped
1 15 oz can of pinto beans, drained and rinsed
2 cloves garlic, minced
3/4 cup cooked lentils
1/4 cup shredded carrots
1/4 cup onion soup mix (make sure the one you select does not contain beef)
1 TB ketchup
1 tsp BBQ sauce
1/8 tsp onion powder
salt, to taste
black pepper, to taste

For the optional sauce:

1 TB vegan mayo (I used Vegenaise brand)
1/4 tsp ketchup
1/8 tsp sriracha sauce

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Spray a foil-lined baking sheet with cooking spray.

2. Combine pepper and onion in food processor and pulse a few times.

3. Add pinto beans to the food processor and pulse until the beans are mashed and thick, but with some bean pieces remaining intact.

4. In a medium bowl, combine the pepper, onion, and bean mixture with the remaining burger ingredients.  Stir until mixed well.

5. Form the burger mixture into four equal-sized patties.  Place on the baking sheet.

6. Bake for approximately 10 minutes.  Remove from oven and flip.  Bake an additional 8-10 minutes, or until both sides have browned and are crispy.

7. Combine vegan mayo, ketchup, and sriracha sauce in a small bowl and stir until mixed well.

8. Serve your “Meatloaf” Veggie Burgers by themselves (as I did) or on a whole wheat bun and top with the vegan sauce and your other favorite toppings, if desired.

meatloaf burgers 6

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, I realize that the sauce does not look very pretty.  But I promise, it tastes good! ;)

meatloaf burgers 5

 

 

 

 

 

I served my “Meatloaf” Veggie Burgers alongside some delicious and colorful green peas.

meatloaf burgers 10

 

 

 

 

 

Now, I really must admit that these veggie burgers taste a bit less like “meatloaf” than I had intended ;).  The flavor is there, but not as strong as it is in my Vegetarian “Meatloaf.”  Even still, these made for some delicious veggie burgers.  I also loved that they were a bit out of the norm compared to the “traditional” veggie burger.  So fair warning…when you make these “Meatloaf” Veggie Burgers, please do not have your heart set on a traditional meatloaf taste.  But, do be ready to eat a delicious vegetarian burger!

meatloaf burgers 7

45 responses

  1. I love all the flavors going on in these burgers — garlic, ketchup, barbecue sauce — and LOVE that you added sriracha to the accompanying sauce! I was a huge fan of my mom’s meatloaf when I was growing up, and always got excited when she’d use the leftovers to make me a sandwich. I’m sure I’d love a burger version equally as much! Have you made these for your dad yet?

    xoxo <3

  2. These sound good, all the ingredients sound like they would be great together. I made my first veggie burger yesterday and although I do eat meat, I think I will be eating a lot more and it will be fun to try out other recipes.

  3. It’s always funny to me how adding a heaping spoonful of bright green peas can make brown/beige tinged dinners look suddenly much healthier. ;) I make peas to go with pasta all the time for that very reason. ;) Not that this isn’t healthy ’cause this sounds WAY better for you than the pasta I typically make. ;) I would definitely try it! :)

  4. I hated meatloaf as a kid but learned to love it as I grew older. When I was a strict vegetarian, I would make my boyfriend (now husband) real meat meatloaf but sneak in a TON of shredded veggies to make it healthier ;) I love this meatless, burger-shaped option!

  5. My goodness, woman! You are all over all kinds of yummy homemade, healthy versions of foods I love! I’m a big fan of meatloaf, but, unfortunately, my husband doesn’t care for it, so it doesn’t make an appearance in our house much…

  6. My Dad’s meatloaf is one of my all time favorite meals! What is it about Dad’s and their cooking, especially with meatloaf?! These “meatloaf” veggie burgers look great. I made meatloaf muffins (I know…it sounds weird) before, and they were great for single serving sizes. These burgers are another great way to make meatloaf into single serving sizes!

  7. Pingback: Mexican Vegetarian “Meatloaf” | Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Leave a Reply

